Level Proficiency Bonus Rages Rage Damage Features
1 2 2 2 Rage, Unarmored Defense
2 2 2 2 Reckless Attack, Danger Sense
3 2 3 2 Barbarian Archetype
4 2 3 2 Ability Score Improvement
5 3 3 2 Extra Attack, Fast Movement
6 3 4 2 Barbarian Archetype Feature
7 3 4 2 Feral Instinct
8 3 4 2 Ability Score Improvement
9 4 4 3 Brutal Critical
10 4 4 3 Barbarian Archetype Feature
11 4 4 3 Relentless Rage
12 4 5 3 Ability Score Improvement
13 5 5 3 Brutal Critical
14 5 5 3 Barbarian Archetype Feature
15 5 5 3 Persistent Rage
16 5 5 4 Ability Score Improvement
17 6 6 4 Brutal Critical
18 6 6 4 Indomitable Might
19 6 6 4 Ability Score Improvement
20 6 Unlimited 4 Primal Champion

Hit Points

Hit Dice: 1d20 per your Barbarian level
Hit Points at 1st Level: 20 + your Constitution modifier
Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d (or 11) + 'your Constitution modifier per Barbarian level after 1st


Armor: Light armor, medium armor, shields
Weapons: Simple weapons, martial weapons
Tools: Choose of the following: 1
Saving Throws: Strength, Constitution
Skills: Choose two of the following: Animal Handling, Survival, Perception, Nature, Intimidation, and Athletics

Rage Level: 1

In battle, you fight with primal ferocity. On your turn, you can enter a rage as a bonus action. While raging, you gain the following benefits if you aren’t wearing heavy armor:

  • You have advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws.
  • When you make a melee weapon attack using Strength, you gain a bonus to the damage roll that increases as you gain levels as a barbarian, as shown in the Rage Damage column of the Barbarian table.
  • You have resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage.

If you are able to cast spells, you can’t cast them or concentrate on them while raging. Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked unconscious or if your turn ends and you haven’t attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then. You can also end your rage on your turn as a bonus action. Once you have raged the number of times shown for your barbarian level in the Rages column of the Barbarian table, you must finish a long rest before you can rage again.

Unarmored Defense Level: 1

While you are not wearing any armor, your Armor Class equals 10 + your Dexterity modifier + your Constitution modifier. You can use a shield and still gain this benefit.

Reckless Attack Level: 2

Starting at 2nd level, you can throw aside all concern for defense to attack with fierce desperation. When you make your first attack on your turn, you can decide to attack recklessly. Doing so gives you advantage on melee weapon attack rolls using Strength during this turn, but attack rolls against you have advantage until your next turn.

Danger Sense Level: 2

At 2nd level, you gain an uncanny sense of when things nearby aren’t as they should be, giving you an edge when you dodge away from danger. You have advantage on Dexterity saving throws against effects that you can see, such as traps and spells. To gain this benefit, you can’t be blinded, deafened, or incapacitated.

Barbarian Archetype Level: 3

At 3rd level, you choose a path that shapes the nature of your rage. The paths are described in the official source material, as well as detailed below. The choice grants you features at 3rd level and again at 6th, 10th, and 14th levels.

Extra Attack Level: 5

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Fast Movement Level: 5

Starting at 5th level, your speed increases by 10 feet while you aren’t wearing heavy armor.

Feral Instinct Level: 7

By 7th level, your instincts are so honed that you have advantage on initiative rolls. Additionally, if you are surprised at the beginning of combat and aren’t incapacitated, you can act normally on your first turn, but only if you enter your rage before doing anything else on that turn.

Brutal Critical Level: 9

Beginning at 9th level, you can roll one additional weapon damage die when determining the extra damage for a critical hit with a melee attack. This increases to two additional dice at 13th level and three additional dice at 17th level.

Relentless Rage Level: 11

Starting at 11th level, your rage can keep you fighting despite grievous wounds. If you drop to 0 hit points while you’re raging and don’t die outright, you can make a DC 10 Constitution saving throw. If you succeed, you drop to 1 hit point instead. Each time you use this feature after the first, the DC increases by 5. When you finish a short or long rest, the DC resets to 10.

Persistent Rage Level: 15

Beginning at 15th level, your rage is so fierce that it ends early only if you fall unconscious or if you choose to end it.

Indomitable Might Level: 18

Beginning at 18th level, if your total for a Strength check is less than your Strength score, you can use that score in place of the total.

Primal Champion Level: 20

At 20th level, you embody the power of the wilds. Your Strength and Constitution scores increase by 4. Your maximum for those scores is now 24.

    Select an archetype above to view it's features


    0 Average Shield Rating
    1 0 reviews
    2 0 reviews
    3 0 reviews
    4 0 reviews
    5 0 reviews

    Add a Review

    Your Review will be submitted as a guest review